IEC Gives Municipal Councils 14 Days To Hold Their First Meetings


The Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) of South Africa has announced that all the 213 municipal councils across the country have 14 days to hold their first council meetings in a media statement on Wednesday, 10 November 2021.

The Electoral Commission further outlined that the managers of the municipalities will be responsible for convening the council meetings.”In the first meeting of local councils, the commission will be conducting elections for the councillors who will be representing those local councils on District councils,” the IEC said.”This segment of the composition the District Councils constitutes 60% of seats,” added the IEC.

The IEC furthet stated that the first meetings of the local councils will be convened first preceding the first meetings of the District Councils. The Electoral Commission also announced that they have gazetted a list of the names and final allocation of seats of 9 473 councillors who won seats in the local government elections, however, the list excludes 60% councillor seats in District councils who will be elected at the first meeting of local municipal councils.